AgriBEE Charter Council

The AgriBEE Charter Council was established in 2008 by the Minister of Agriculture and Land Reform.  

The major focus of the AgriBEE Charter Council, on which Agbiz serves, has been the finalisation of the new AgriBEE Sector Code, aligned with the amended generic Codes of Good Practice (CoGP), and gazetted on 20 November 2015 for comment.  The Minister of Trade and Industry Dr Rob Davies has gazetted the Amended AgriBEE Sector Code in the Government Gazette of 8 December 2017.  Minister Rob Davies said that the sector code will serve as guideline for transformation of the agricultural sector. It replaces the old AgriBEE Sector Code which was gazetted in December 2012.   

The AgriBEE Charter Council also established an AgriBEE portal where enterprises that fall within the scope of application of the AgriBEE Sector Code can post their scorecards for business purposes. 

At the request of the Secretariat of the AgriBEE Charter Council, Agbiz Exco nominated Dr John Purchase and Mr Melcus Nel to serve as primary and secundus representative, respectively, on the AgriBEE Charter Council. The terms of the previous representatives expired  in  December  2016.  At  the  meeting  of  the  AgriBEE  Charter  Council  on  22 November 2016, Agbiz was the only institution to have nominated members. 

Agbiz played a leading role in developing the Amended AgriBEE Sector Code. 

Click here to read some FAQ about the new AgriBEE Sector Code. 

Copyright © 2018 by Agricultural Business Chamber